SIX APACHE LADIES signed basketball scholarships with four-year universities during a ceremony on Wednesday in the foyer of Wagstaff Gymnasium. Tyler Junior College head coach Trenia Tillis Hoard and assistant coach Precious Ivy look on as (from left) Alexis Jones (Houston), Jordan Campbell (Kentucky State), Sky'lynn Holmes (Troy), Nautica Grant (Northwestern State), Catherine Okwilagwe (Texas Southern) and Ashley Clayborn (Arkansas State) ink their papers. (Phil Hicks/Staff Photo)


As TJC students continue to take finals this week, six Apache Ladies took time out from their exams to sign some documents on Wednesday.

The Tyler Junior College sophomore basketball players inked scholarships with four-year universities in a ceremony before family, friends, teachers and teammates in the foyer of Wagstaff Gymnasium. A reception was held following the gathering.

"These young ladies have accomplished many great things in their two years at Tyler Junior College," TJC coach Trenia Tillis Hoard said. "They were key in helping us earn a trip to the national tournament."

Signing were five players and a manager.

Inking scholarships were manager Alexis Jones (University of Houston), Jordan Campbell (Kentucky State University), Sky'lynn Holmes (Troy University), Nautica Grant (Northwestern State University), Catherine Okwilagwe (Texas Southern University) and Ashley Clayborn (Arkansas State University).

Campbell is a 6-0 forward from Montgomery, Illinois, near Chicago. Kentucky State is an NCAA Division II school located in Frankfort, Kentucky and competes in the Southern Intercollegiate Conference.

Holmes is a 6-2 forward from Mount Pleasant who attended Pine Tree High School. The second-team All-American is headed to Troy, which is located in Troy, Alabama and the Trojans compete in the Sun Belt Conference.

Grant is a 5-5 point guard from Dallas and Northwestern State, located in Natchitoches, Louisiana. The Demons compete in the Southland Conference.

Okwilagwe, a 6-2 sophomore post, is from Garland. TSU is located in Houston and the Tigers compete in the Southwestern Athletic Conference.

Clayborn, a 5-9 guard, from Hot Springs, Arkansas. Arkansas State is located in Jonesboro, Arkansas. The Red Wolves also compete in the Sun Belt.

Jones is from Tyler and the University of Houston is part of the American Athletic Conference.


Link to original article at