Photo by Phil Hicks (
Photo by Phil Hicks (
Men's Soccer - Tue, Jun. 18, 2013

After another successful season, 11 Tyler Junior College Apache soccer players signed with four-year schools. Pictured are some of the signees (from left) Wayne Hall (University of South Florida), Joseph Pratt (University of Maryland, Baltimore County), Casey Osborne (St. John's University), Patrick Foley (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Nathan Trout (California State-Fullerton), Oneil Fisher (University of New Mexico) and Alan Rovira (University of Cincinnati). Not pictured: Chris McGaughey (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Tyler Atwell (Marshall University), Essie Aburime (Georgia Gwinnett College) and Hamza El Otmani (Molloy College). 


After three national championship in four years, the soccer coaches have converged on the Tyler Junior College campus.

And once again a number of Apache sophomores are moving on to the next level.

Eleven TJC standouts have signed with four-year universities TJC coach Steve Clements announced.

Nine have inked with Division I squads, with NAIA and NCAA Division II schools signing the other two.

"What a great group of guys and a great group to work with," said Clements, whose club won the 2012 national championship in Darton, Ga.

"They had such a great work ethic and did well in the classroom," Clements said.

The Apaches also won the national title in 2009 and 2010, while finishing third in 2011.

Signing scholarships were defender Wayne Hall of Newcastle, England (University of South Florida), midfielder Joseph Pratt of Gaithersburg, Md. (University of Maryland, Baltimore County), forward Casey Osborne of Atlanta (St. John's University), foward Patrick Foley of Sydney, Australia (University of Missouri-Kansas City), defender Nathan Trout of Liverpool, England (California State-Fullerton), midfielder Oneil Fisher of St. Catherine, Jamaica (University of New Mexico), midfielder Alan Rovira of Simi Valley, Calif. (University of Cincinnati), goalkeeper Chris McGaughey of Armagh, Ireland (University of Missouri-Kansas City), goalkeeper Tyler Atwell of Hurst (Marshall University), midfielder Essie Aburime of Atlanta (Georgia Gwinnett College) and midfielder Hamza El Otmani of Tampa, Fla. (Molloy College).

The 2012 squad had a record of 20-3-1. Osborne was named the NSCAA National Player of the Year, and Clements was named the National Coach of the Tournament for the third time in four years.

The Apaches open their 2013 season on Aug. 31 against Johnson County (Kan.) Community College in Dallas. Their home opener at Pat Hartley Field is Sept. 27 against Richland College.

Tyler will also host the NJCAA Division I National Soccer Tournament Nov. 19-24 at Pat Hartley Field.


Article Courtesy of