News Photo
Women's Tennis - Thu, May 9, 2013

TUCSON, Ariz. – Tyler Junior College (Texas) claimed their fourth straight NJCAA Division I Women's Tennis national championship Thursday at the Jim Reffkin Tennis Center. Finishing with a total of 46 points, the Apaches clinched their 17th title in program history by narrowly edging out ASA College (N.Y.) who finished with 42.5 points.

The ASA Avengers joined Georgia Perimeter College in claiming two singles championships, while Tyler and Florida State-Jacksonville each earned one. It was Florida State-Jacksonville sophomore Esther Zuniga taking the No. 1 singles crown with a 0-6, 6-3, 6-4 victory over Tyler freshman Fausthyara Pietersz. In No. 2 singles, Georgia Perimeter freshman Fatyha Berjan earned a 6-2, 6-2 win over Tyler sophomore Nelo Phiri. Georgia Perimeter sophomore Ida Amen defeated Tyler sophomore Alejandra Enderica 7-6, 6-2 in No. 3 singles.

Tyler earned the No. 4 singles crown with freshman Kylie Reynaud's 6-0, 6-0 victory against ASA freshman Teona Tatishvili. ASA freshman Vlada Rabin beat St. Petersburg College (Fla.) freshman Melanie Gray 6-1, 6-0 in No. 5 singles. In No. 6 singles, Tyler freshman Kerry Wiegand was defeated 3-6, 7-5, 6-1 by ASA sophomore Fatima Outtara.

The Apaches edged ASA in doubles, claiming victory in two of the three flights. In No. 1 doubles, Pietersz and Phiri notched a 6-2, 6-2 win for Tyler against ASA freshmen Dayana Agasieva and Diana Perez. ASA earned a victory in No. 2 doubles as Tatishvili and freshman Tamar Tskhakia scored a 6-1, 6-4 win over Berjane and sophomore Nea Krpo from Georgia Perimeter. Tyler's Reynaud and Wiegand won the No. 3 doubles 5-7, 6-4, 7-6 over ASA's Outtara and Rabin.

Collin County Community College (Texas) came in third place with 32 points, followed by Florida State-Jacksonville in fourth with 31 and Georgia Perimeter in fifth with 28.5.

With 17 national championships under their belt, Tyler has firmly established themselves as the most dominant program in the history of NJCAA women's tennis. The Apaches have now won four consecutive titles for the second time in school history after winning five in-a-row between 1998 and 2002. Midland College (Texas) has the second most DI women's tennis championships with seven.