News Photo
Football - Thu, Dec. 16, 2010
Robert E. Lee graduate Maurice Hood joined some select company at Tyler Junior College on Thursday, becoming just the 30th Apaches football player to be named a first-team NJCAA All-American.

TJC produced its first football All-American in 1950 and Hood, a defensive back, is now the 63rd player in school history to receive some type of national recognition after the season.
"I'm excited," Hood told the Tyler Paper. "I thought maybe I would have won it also (last year) I'm blessed to be nominated this year. It feels great.

"I was coached by a great coaching staff and I played with some great players on the Tyler Junior College football team."

Hood, scheduled to graduate in May, had 70 tackles and three sacks for the Apaches during the 2010 season. The 5-11, 190-pound sophomore was a two-year starter for TJC and was a unanimous all-conference selection both years.

The Apaches played only eight games in 2010, and Hood produced big numbers from his safety position despite being limited to six full games. He suffered an ankle injury in the season finale against Kilgore and did not play against Cisco.

In back-to-back weeks, Hood had 14 tackles and two tackles for loss against Blinn and then made 18.5 tackles against Northeastern Oklahoma A&M along with a fumble recovery, pass breakup and two sacks.

"He played really hard, a fierce competitor," TJC head coach Danny Palmer said. "He can play just about any position in the secondary.

"He was very good reading the run and didn't get fooled a lot in pass coverage. We could always count on him. In dime coverage we had him back deep although he was short. He practiced just like he played. He loved to practice and he really had an outstanding two years at TJC."

Told that Hood was just the 30th first-team All-American for TJC, Palmer said, "What we really need to go along with that is a national championship real soon. I'm very proud of (Hood's achievement). That's some kind of astonishing number."

Hood joins Michael Johnson (2004) of the New York Giants and Quincy Butler (2003) of the St. Louis Rams as the most recent TJC defensive backs to make the first team.

The last TJC football All-American had been punter George Pierson, who made the second team in 2007 -- Palmer's first season.

The Southwest Junior College Football Conference produced five first-team All-Americans this year. The others were Trinity Valley running back Josh Johnson, Blinn return specialist Philander Moore, Navarro defensive lineman Toby Jackson and Blinn linebacker Princeton Jackson.

Name Position Team
1950 Tom Driscoll End 1st team
1951 John Linney QB 1st team
1952 Dan Page QB 1st team
1954 Mac Reynolds End 1st team
1955 Holt OT 1st team
1956 Billy Dickey Back HM
1957 Rodney Parr OT 1st team
1958 Donald Pitcock OT 1st team
Leon Fuller Back 1st team
1960 Mike Cope OL 1st team
Frank Brewer RB 2nd team
Richard Ferris OG HM
1961 Larry Harwood OG 2nd team
1962 Horace Johnson OL 1st team
1964 Vidal Carlin QB 2nd team
1966 Joe McDaniel OT HM
1967 Joe McDaniel OT HM
1968 Raymond Fontenot LB 2nd team
1969 Ray Dowdy DL 1st team
Jerry Bishop OT 1st team
Kenneth Fonteno HB HM
1970 John Harvey RB 1st team
J.C. Garrett KT 1st team
1971 Milliard Neeley DT 1st team
John McCrumbley LB 2nd team
Phil Perry OT HM
1972 Tom Haber DT 1st team
John McCrumbley LB 2nd team
1973 Don Forte RB HM
1974 Charlie Johnson TE 1st team
Bobby Mitchell Back HM
1975 Bobby Mitchell Back HM
Earnest Shields DL HM
1977 Andrew Melontree HM
1979 Marvin Lewis 2nd team
1981 Wayman Bolton HM
1982 Norris Fisher DL 1st team
1983 Ronnie Ducksworth HM
1985 Marvin Allen RB 2nd team
Danny Lara HM
1986 La Salle Harper LB 1st team
Don Matthews HM
1987 Johnny Cooper Back 2nd team
1988 Chad Hymel OL 1st team
1993 Paul Moore Back 2nd team
2000 Olan Coleman RS 1st team
Charles Davis DB HM
2001 Jason Walston End 2nd team
Jacky Wang OL 2nd team
Tony Ward DB HM
2002 Nino Williams DB 1st team
Michael Erokwe OL 1st team
2003 Brett McGehee C 1st team
Quincy Butler DB 1st team
2004 Josh Elmore C 1st team
Michael Johnson DB 1st team
2005 Shannon Boatman OL 1st team
Michael McDonald DL 2nd team
2006 Bryan Smith TE 1st team
Johnny Knox WR 2nd team
John Weed QB HM
2007 George Pierson P 2nd team
2010 Maurice Hood DB 1st team